In the market for a car, best fuel economy - Gen 1 or Gen 2?
  1. Welcome to Chevy Cruze Forum : Chevrolet Cruze Forums – General discussion forum for Chevy Cruze

Welcome to Chevy Cruze Forum : Chevrolet Cruze Forums - a website dedicated to all things Chevy Cruze.

You are currently viewing our forum as a guest, which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our community, at no cost, you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is free, fast and simple, Join Chevy Cruze Forum : Chevrolet Cruze Forums today!

+ Reply to Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
Like Tree7Likes

Thread: In the market for a car, best fuel economy - Gen 1 or Gen 2?

Driver's Ed

In the market for a car, best fuel economy - Gen 1 or Gen 2?

Hi, Newbie here on this forum. I am in the market for a car. Been looking at the Gen 1 Eco, but see the EPA numbers for the Gen 2 are higher. I am looking for the best fuel economy possible as well as range per tank. Wanted to reach out to the experts here to get your feedback. I prefer a manual trans, but I see the best economy on fueleconomy.gov for the Gen 2 is with the auto transmission? Thanks.

2. Remove Advertisements
    Chevy Cruze Forum
    Advertisements

5th Gear
    Best range, Gen1 diesel. Best mpg, Gen2 diesel stick shift.
    The Gen2 is larger, lighter, slightly more aerodynamic (but the lower Cd is offset by the fact that it's larger), and has more efficient engines, gas and diesel.

If you don't want to go diesel, I suspect Gen2 sedan with stick shift is the winner, with Gen1 Eco stick shift following close behind.

My Gen2 1.4L auto sedan is capable of low 50s mpg at a constant 55mph, but that drops off noticeably above 60mph. Driving at 75, the 40-42 epa rating is about the best I can hope for.
    2017 Cruze LT RS
    2016 Cruze LT with Sun&Sound

Administrator