Chevrolet Cruze Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
154 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi I have a 2012 Chevy Cruze 1.8L with 94k miles and I notice at about 80k that my gas milage started taking a hit. I used to get about 24MPG in the city on 91 Shell but now I only get 21.5 or 20.. I've had my Oil changed 2k miles ago and have always put synthetic in, and always pump 91 shell 80% of the time. My Oil filter currently has 2k miles on it but is going to be changed to a K&N in a few days and my Air filter might as well since I have about 15k miles on it. I am a very aggressive driver but I always have been and recently my fiancé who drives like a 90 year old saint can barely break 24 MPG when she used to be able to get 26+MPG out of her driving. Anyone have any suggestions as to what should be replaced to solve this? Chevy already reset the ECU to clear the transmission's memory.

·
Registered
154 Posts
Discussion Starter #4 (Edited)
Could have a tired oxygen sensor.
I actually researched the symptoms of that happening and it seems like I'm experiencing almost all of them. Rough idle, jerking, gas milage taking a huge hit, and loss of power. I'm buying one right now from Bosch! Thanks!

**EDIT** Actually I'm hearing the Bosch ones are bad? Can someone link me to a good O2 Sensor?

·
Administrator
25,038 Posts
Have you replaced your spark plugs yet? They're either completely worn out or very close to it.

·
Registered
154 Posts
Discussion Starter #12 (Edited)
So I'm on Rock Auto and before I order everything does it sound right to y'all?

AUTOLITE Part # XP3923 Iridium XP SPARK PLUG x4 = $18

ACDELCO Part # 2134699 {#55572215} GM Original Equipment UPSTREAM O2 Sensor = $48.79

ACDELCO Part # 2134698 {#55572216} GM Original Equipment DOWNSTREAM O2 Sensor = $23.79

Total with 2 day shipping = $119.41

**EDIT** Apparently after further research the Downstream isn't important so I'm taking that off. So $78 total.

·
Administrator
25,038 Posts