Chevrolet Cruze Forums banner
1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all, I’m a newbie to the Cruze network. I’m considering purchasing a used 2012 Cruze eco 6-speed manual. It has 135k miles, but drives like its new. Interior, exterior and engine compartment are clean and in great shape. Carfax shows good maintenance records, and no accidents or major surgery. Can anyone share advice on things I should check out or be aware of before purchase?

Thanks in advance!

·
Registered
42 Posts
Hi all, I’m a newbie to the Cruze network. I’m considering purchasing a used 2012 Cruze eco 6-speed manual. It has 135k miles, but drives like its new. Interior, exterior and engine compartment are clean and in great shape. Carfax shows good maintenance records, and no accidents or major surgery. Can anyone share advice on things I should check out or be aware of before purchase?

Thanks in advance!

Hey,
Nice model there! Manual + eco!!

Get under the bonnet and have a look at everything you can. Inspect the engine, open the oil cap (and check dipstick) for spooky white grime. I also look for scratches/screw marks on the underside of the bonnet, that suggest that it has come off in the past (meaning that there actually has been some major surgery).
You probably won't be able to, given it's not yours yet, but take any opportunity to check for leaks under the car and near the radiator

Service-wise, has the proper maintenance schedule been carried out, and do you have evidence of part-replacement at the suggested times?
Either way, for the right price, and if it's the real deal service-wise, you may be in luck.

It's my opinion that all miles are not created equal.
I would readily buy a car with 100k highway miles, but shy away from a car with 60k city miles.
Do you have any info about the previous owner/what it was used for?

See how you go.
How much are they asking?

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·