Chevrolet Cruze Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
So I'm new here so apologies if what I say doesn't provide any useful information but I'm pretty lost. So I've had my 2012 Cruze for about 5-6 years and it has about 140k on it. A few months ago while i was driving for work the car went into what i believe to be limp mode, i went from going 55 to roughly 25 and wouldn't go any faster. I took it to my local dealer and they said the trans is going and that's what's causing it... I'm a college student so I didn't have the 4K they wanted to put a used trans in (no one where i live rebuilds them) so i called around and found a place who would rebuild it for about half the cost. So after saving up the money (and having my Cruze in a storage unit) for a few months i took it to the nearest trans place that would rebuild it. The technician didn't think it was the trans so he messed around with it for a few days and called me saying that it has to be the trans due to the color of the fluid, there being metal shavings, and the hard shift into reverse. That was about a month ago, he called me a week after i brought it in and told me it's still doing it post rebuild, so he's going to go back through the trans and see what else it could be. I called him last week and he still is lost as to what could be causing it. Only other issues i have with the Cruze is the actuator for the heat/ac is stripped so i need to get that replaced but I wouldn't think that would have anything to do with it... any info would help a ton!

It's a 1.8l 2012 automatic with 140k on it

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
I believe i posted in the wrong discussion board but my issue that i need help with is that my Cruze went into what i believe to be limp mode a couple months ago... i was