Chevrolet Cruze Forums banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
14 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
This is my first time that I had purchased a new car. I haven't had any real issues (just recalls) until I hit right around 50K. I will be making my 4th trip sometime this week to the dealership for warranty work. The first time I noticed a problem was when most of the oil had decided to leave the engine and end up all over the transmission and near all of the pulleys. I was told that this was a known problem with the 1.4-liter engines. Had the intake and valve cover replaced with all hoses and gaskets that are applicable. Less than a week later, rough idle, sounds like a vacuum cleaner running, and burning oil smell. Back to the dealership, I'm told that the one gasket they replaced was bad and my one spark plug wasn't tightened properly.

I wait for the car to be repaired since they didn't have a rental for me. I get my car back and it seems okay for the weekend. Drive to work, lunch time I drive to get food and again it smells like burning oil and it runs rough. I call to inform the dealership its a problem and they are "surprised" there is no check engine light. I drive around for 45-50 min hoping to get this CEL so I have some proof. I get the light (yay, I'm not crazy) followed by a "service stablitrak" I take it back to the dealer be told I have really low compression in cylinder 3 and they are keeping the car. Turns out the rings had broken or fallen apart and they needed to change out the piston and the rings.(I was confused because on the warranty sheet it showed they had charged for 5 pistons) I get my car back after it's "fixed" it has a nasty rattle, smells like oil and mechanic and has greasy/oily fingerprints on the interior. Driving it the day after getting it back I get a CEL and burning oil smell. CEL (P1101) is telling me that my MAF is out of range. It ends up going off that night but the following day I get a P1101 along with a P0420.