Chevrolet Cruze Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

I just bought a 2015 Chevrolet Cruze LT warranty. I will be getting the car in a few days. The car is used with 21000 km on it ( used to be a daily rental). I was wondering what everyones thoughts are on purchasing the extended warranty? I was told it would be for 6 years or up to 120,00 KM. He said the normal price is $3800 but that because i'm a teacher they offer it for a $1000 off for $2800. I am financing the car so the $2800 will actually end up being quite a bit more. Thoughts? The car has a touch screen and back up camera so i'm not sure if that makes it worth it. I'm on a budget but I do have an emergency account if something were to go wrong with the car. If the warranty is very valuable then I am happy to get it i'm just not sure if its better that I run the risk.

Any information would be very helpful!

Thanks!

·
Registered
121 Posts
I would put that $2800 into your emergency acocunt and not into an extended warranty that has a $100 deductible.

Not sure the difference between the US and Canada but when we bought our '15 Cruze new we were offered an extended warranty of 6 years/75k for $1000

·
Registered
46 Posts
FWIW I have never, ever bought an extended warranty and (knock on wood) have never needed it. I would also put the money into a special account. It's like you're paying for a major repair whether you need it or not with an extended warranty.

·
Premium Member
2,219 Posts
In my opinion that is not needed and is a total waste of money, the 2015 comes with a 100k 5 year power train warranty anyways and is the last model year for that warranty. All you are doing is providing a huge commission for someone. Just my 2 cents. I just bought a 2015 Diesel with 3700 miles, they started to chatter about extended warranty and I just said NO WAY.

·
Premium Member
5,535 Posts
Hello,