Chevrolet Cruze Forums banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
21 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Car has about 300 miles on it. It reminds me of when I would attach cardboard to my bicycle so the cardboard hit the spokes.

Sound sample on YouTube: https://youtu.be/Dp8grx_8-_k (you might need to turn up the volume).

Chevy service department agrees it sounds odd, but no diagnosis so far.

Any ideas?

Stan

·
Registered
253 Posts
could be a noise alternator, pulley or a/c unit. That's hard to say. That even slightly sounds like a whining transmission a little bit.

·
Registered
96 Posts
Are you talking about the sound during acceleration? That's how DI engines sound, especially when cold/warming up. My 2016 sounds the same. People compare it to a lawn mower or diesel.

Otherwise I heard a few noises when you went over bumps, but I assume that's the camera mount.

·
Registered
52 Posts
I'm not a mechanic but I've had 2 cars with DI engines so far and they've not sounded like that. They do have a characteristic ticking noise and that's not it.

Not sure what it is OP, but to my ears, it doesn't sound normal.

EDIT: So, I just drove back from work and noticed the engine made a similar noise as heard in your video. The noise went away after a few minutes as the engine warmed up. It's close to freezing up here so...maybe it is normal!?

Does the sound go away once the engine has warmed?

·
Registered
246 Posts
I have that also. I don't recall hearing it on the first few drives, but it started suddenly about day 4 of ownership. Noise when cold, disappears when warm. I liken it to a hammer drill working somewhere in the same building, a few rooms or floors away. Had the oil changed yesterday at 300 miles. Seemed a little quieter this morning, first cold start since then.

·
Administrator, Resident Tater Salad
16,998 Posts
Direct injection just sounds weird when it's cold - some cars more than others. Nothing to worry about.