Chevrolet Cruze Forums banner

1 - 20 of 49 Posts

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,
My 2013 Cruze showed engine overheating message so took it to the mechanic who found no coolant + water pump broken. Says he has to replace the water pump and it will cost about $850

The breakdown was $450 in labor (He said it'll take 3.5 hours) + $150 in parts + ?$$ for coolant flushing +$60 for diagnosis

They seem reputable but still wanted to make sure if this number sounds normal or too high? Thoughts?

·
Premium Member
2013 Cruze LT
1,901 Posts
3.5 hours??? I did mine in 1 hour and I'm a weekend warrior mechanic. Tad high.

·
Registered
1,882 Posts
Contact your local dealer with your vin

Reactions: mxgreen

·
Registered
13 Posts
Discussion Starter #6

·
Registered
118 Posts
To high? Yep...possible $850 too high. GM has an special/extended warranty on water pumps. I had mine done last month. Took the car in for an oil change...service writer came out and told me about the water pump.....before I could ask "how much?" she said it was covered by a extended warranty. Free is best.

Nowadays a dealer is not always the car owners boogyman anymore.

·
Registered
1,882 Posts
Nowadays a dealer is not always the car owners boogyman anymore.
I wouldn't go so far in saying that. I'm sure only work they get to do is warranty claimed. I wonder what the cost would've been if it wasn't warrantied. Bet it would've been as scary as the boogyman or worse. I can't say I've had any good experience in the dealers service dept except for resetting the tpms sensors which was done in the write up lane within 5 mins. Just don't let your car go into the hidden garage of the dealer if you're out of warranty.

·
Registered
215 Posts
IMO, $850 for a 1.4 water pump is high. 1-1/2 hour job. Parts/supplies under $200 depending on brand pump used.

Reactions: Thebigzeus

·
Registered
142 Posts