Chevrolet Cruze Forums banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
176 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
I couldn't keep my Cruze stock for more than a week... I replaced the stock air filter with a conical AEM Dryflow filter and removed the inlet snorkel ducting. It's still too quiet so I will be fabricating my own short ram intake when hptuners figures out why I cannot pull the stock tune file. I can barely hear the blow off with the radio off and windows up.

sound clip

https://youtu.be/bHlI1I4aR9s

Attachments

·
Registered
16 Posts
I did this too but without replacing the stock filter, so it sounded way quieter than yours. If you end up making a custom SRI will you post how you did it? I'm not that good with making custom stuff.

·
Administrator
15,741 Posts
Just a heads up, any time you get more sound and better airflow out of a filter with the same or less filter media surface area, you consequently reduce filtration efficiency (the filter's ability to trap small particles). Just be aware of this drawback when switching filters. The OEM filter actually does an excellent job of trapping particles. The AEM filter...not so much.

·
Registered
30 Posts
Take the lower box off and flip the upper lip. Use a zip tie to support the lid from moving around. The upper lid flipped is almost a perfect fit. Obviously, the air filter and such stays intact. This situation does not look pretty but the car freaking screams, and you can hear the blow off valve like crazy, with the manual trans!
Leave the rubber hose disconnect from the lower box.

·
Registered
176 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Take the lower box off and flip the upper lip. Use a zip tie to support the lid from moving around. The upper lid flipped is almost a perfect fit. Obviously, the air filter and such stays intact. This situation does not look pretty but the car freaking screams, and you can hear the blow off valve like crazy, with the manual trans!
Leave the rubber hose disconnect from the lower box.