Chevrolet Cruze Forums banner
Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 19 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
110 Posts
Wow, glad i found this thread. i get the coolant smell, but at very rare non random times. I need to have the car at operating temperatures, high load, up hill, from sea level to higher altitude (lots of that where i live) with the intermittantly noisy blower motor on. but it only happens at high speed. I live at the top of a large hill with high load from sea level to snow line and I don't get the smell. but i'm not going any faster than 70(kph). on the highway theres a hill that i need to take a run at (eco 6 speed manual) and by the time i hit the top of the hill i smell coolant and sometimes that very familar smell of a burnt GM blower motor resistor (I've been a tech for 5 years now, 4 years dealing with a lot of GMs, just went to ford) I never put much thought into it being a problem, but the first few times i got real dizzy from it haha.
As it turns out I've been in the local dealer every weekend for the last 5 saturdays. the first 4 were finding an oil leak that they apperently didn't fix (but we'll get to that) and the last saturday was co-signing on a sonic for my ex.

I just went out to check my coolant level and my degas bottle is empty! i've also had a belt noise since the coolant smell started and while i couldn't find any staining under the water pump, the AC compressor is oily.
I also found oil all over my transmission to engine seam, which the dealer 'fixed' after 4 weeks of trying to find it, calling it a faulty PCV.

anyways, sorry for the rant, i've just spent too much time in the dealer this year and it sounds like i'll be in there for another few weeks fixing the coolant issue, and re-fixing the oil leak.

At least when ford has these problems I get paid to fix them :)

·
Registered
110 Posts