Chevrolet Cruze Forums banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
148 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to the state, and I have noticed that over a year my engine compartment is more dirty than my previous vehicles ever became in Michigan. Should I be following a more strict regiment of changing the air filter/ is there added benefit to the drop in high performance filter?

·
Registered
271 Posts
Ugh just change the filter once its dirty. Their isn't really a set time or mileage even though the manual says so. Just hold it up to the light and see if its dirty.

I'm sure the high performance filters can filter better by a few particles per million versus the stock filter. Its nothing you're going to notice over the life of the vehicle. I upgraded mine because I wanted more turbo noise and performance.

·
Registered
151 Posts
You should definitely be changing them out more often. Especially since we have had like three dust storms in the past week. You may want to look into a washable filter, so a drop in K&N may be worth it. They still filter enough but will allow you to clean them. Although I doubt you would save much money going this route over just buying regular OEM filters more often. Basically if you want to go with a drop in it won't hurt the car, but you won't be saving much money, alternately just be a bit more proactive about changing out the filters.

·
Premium Member
2,234 Posts
You may want to look into a washable filter, so a drop in K&N may be worth it. They still filter enough but will allow you to clean them.
Keep in mind you'll want to have a stock filter on hand because the K&N needs time to air dry after washing. If you wash, oil and throw back in you're going to cause a CEL.

If you go with an aftermarket intake make sure you buy the "water repellant shield" It's a good addition to prevent the filter from getting overly dusty.

·
Premium Member
6,918 Posts