Chevrolet Cruze Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi Cruze Talk Community - I've been lurking for a couple of years and have found a ton of useful information in the forums. I'm hopeful that y'all can point me in the right direction with this oil leak. I'm a novice and likely won't compete the repair myself, but will rather purchase the needed parts to have them installed.

A few weeks ago, I began to notice the smell of burning oil coming from the A/C vents when idling. I checked under the hood and noticed a fair amount of oil on the front of the engine and around the oil fill cap. I also noticed oil just sitting on top of the fill cap. I initially figured the oil fill cap was the issue so I swapped it out. I then thuroughly washed down the engine bay in order to confirm that no additional oil appeared. While the situation does seem to have improved somewhat, I'm still seeing oil and smelling the burning at idle. I'm thinking that the cause is the valve cover, but am unsure. I've included a few photos and hope that the problem is obvious to those more experienced Cruze owners.

Thank you all for your feedback and time!

IMG_4771.jpg IMG_4772.jpg IMG_4773.jpg IMG_4774.jpg IMG_4778.jpg IMG_4776.jpg

·
Registered
206 Posts
I’m not super familiar with the 1.4L but I do know they have issues with the PCV / valve cover. There are many people on this forum who know much more about it. I know there is supposed to be an orange check valve.
Here is some more info on what I’m referring to and maybe someone else has some more input.

·
Registered
2 Posts
Hi Cruze Talk Community - I've been lurking for a couple of years and have found a ton of useful information in the forums. I'm hopeful that y'all can point me in the right direction with this oil leak. I'm a novice and likely won't compete the repair myself, but will rather purchase the needed parts to have them installed.