Chevrolet Cruze Forums banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
25 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all just got a random question. I live in Canada and just bought my first car last April. It's a 2012 Cruze and I did need a co signer for it as my credit wasn't the greatest. I'm curious if I will have issues buying my next car sometime down the road. I make all payments on time and have decent income as I'm a practical nurse. Will the bank I'm financing with now be more than willing to lend to me again? Even if I trade this car in?

·
Premium Member
1,013 Posts
I'm sure after having a car loan your credit will go up from the on time payments. If you're unsure ask your dealer if they report good payment history to the credit companies, I know some will only report if you're missing payments. I know only a couple months after I got mine, I now get endless mail saying I'm pre-approved for everything haha ....Not that I need any more credit cards, but my car loan has definitely raised my score more.

·
Premium Member
5,638 Posts
When trying to obtain your next loan shop around and get pre-approved if you can for better terms? When G.M.'s banking partner told me no I went with another lender at a high rate. Recently my little Credit Union wanted my business at a much lower APR & payment, plus extended my terms for another 72 months. The Credit Union even valued my CRUZE equity at around $15,000, retail when I would be lucky to see half of that. Costly little cars

·
Premium Member
1,013 Posts
^ Agreed, credit unions usually offer way better rate, that's who my auto loan is through and I bought my first car with no cosigner (and a notsogreat credit history) and at a rate of 4.9%.

·
Banned
10,296 Posts
Developing your credit history now, just make your payments on time, well if you don't will hit you with a stiff late payment charge.