Chevrolet Cruze Forums banner

1 - 20 of 40 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
510 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
For 2011-2015 Cruzes and 2016 Cruze Limiteds made in the United States and Australia that do not have remote start enabled only.

In my quest to find a way to add factory remote start to my 2011 Cruze, (and my side quest for a cure for a bad case of boredom mixed with inquisitiveness), I took a look at a BCM pulled from a 2014 Cruze with remote start.

The first thing I did was immediately investigate the internals. It didn't take long to find an 8 pin 24C16WT sitting by itself. A quick google search revealed that it was the eeprom I was looking for.

Digging out my recently replaced usb reader and adapter clip, I hooked it up to my Surface Pro and read the chip. Just like the radio silver boxes, it comes out mostly as random gibberish but 3 things are in clear text format:

1) the BCM's serial number
2) the donor car's VIN
3) what appears to be a 4 digit security code

I switched the vin to match that of my car and swapped it out. While the new BCM did trigger the anti-theft start lock out and threw a fit about my TPMS needing to be serviced, my car did not outright reject the "new" unit. I was able to access the setting menu through my radio and immediately I noticed a new setting for Remote Start Auto Heated Seats (sorry, can't remember the section name). Remote start itself did not appear in the appropriate section, but I ignored that as I wasn't 100% certain I had the right hood latch in my Cruze.

The next thing I decided to try was cloning my original BCM's eeprom and see what happened. I made backups of both chips, then flashed my 2011 dump to the 2014. A quick reassemble and the new bcm was plugged back in.

This time the results were a bit different:

1) the reported mileage had changed and now matched what I knew was the current amount
2) the anti-theft lock out did not trigger and I was able to start my car right up
3) it still showed the setting for the remote start heated seats

So while it probably was to be expected that the vehicle's mileage would be stored in the chip, it's interesting that the resistor value for our keys is also stored there and both are able to be transferred over without affecting the options programmed into the BCM at the factory.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
243 Posts
Very interesting information.

So you're a Pharmacy Tech who has an Electrical Engineering degree? Pretty cool.

You remind me a lot of a guy I know thru the Duramax community. He's researched many of the same things for our trucks and came up with a lot of add-ons and mods that way.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
1,709 Posts
Nicely done.

Things like VIN, Serial Numbers, etc, are almost always stored in a section of the cache that can be rewritten as you please. That is... There's no signature or checksum or anything like that.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
8,003 Posts
Seems like a reoccurring pattern. Stuff that gets changed has it's own storage separate from the software. Probably to prevent the software from getting overwritten.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
510 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
It also applies to the instrument panel. There is a distinct size difference in this chip and the one in the silverboxes. That chip was a 16k and this one is only a 2k.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
510 Posts
Discussion Starter #7 (Edited)
And, the test is a success. I now have oem remote start :)

To add it you just need the following items:

1) BCM programmed for remote start (opt BTV)
2) hood latch for 2012-15 Cruze/2016 Cruze Limited (part number 95463828)
3) 5 button key fob w/ remote start function

How to:

1) Get your bcm reprogrammed* and program your new fobs to your vehicle. Optionally, you can use an onstar module already programmed for remote start instead of new key fobs. It is a straight switch out, but you will need (at the very least) the free basic onstar plan to have access to the key fob section in the my chevrolet app. Unfortunately, I have no idea how to tell if one is already programmed for it.

2) Replace your existing hood latch with the new one. Don't forget to reconnect the wire harness.

3) Use your key fob or onstar via my chevrolet app to test the remote start.


*-At the present time, I do not recommend doing a BCM swap with a unit already programmed for remote start. Even though the eeprom clone will allow the new unit to pass the anti-theft systems, it can cause issues with other parts in the vehicle.... especially if you have a 2011. Unless Chevyguy, dhpnet & I can put our heads together and come up with a solution, you will have to either use a 3rd party reprogramming service or convince GM to enable the BTV option for your vin so a dealer can do the reprogram.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
510 Posts
Discussion Starter #9 (Edited)
I reverted back to my original bcm due to 2 issues that may or may not be related to each other:

1) I can't set my cruze control while using the 2014 cruze bcm (The vehicle I pulled the test bcm from does have cruise installed w/ the same rpo code as my 11, and it can be turned off and on... just not set)

2) the a/c is dead set on frying me alive no matter what I do, even a battery reset (obviously a conflict with the 2011 hvac control module's programming and the test bcm)

Before anyone suggests replacing other parts, etc... remember, this was only a test to see if remote start could be added by doing a bcm swap + eeprom clone instead of having your original bcm reprogrammed.

Also, it seems that it should be possible to add the remote start without buying a new hood latch. The first thing I encountered after reinstalling my original bcm and starting my car was a warning message that my hood was open. Apparently the only difference between the 2011 hood latch and the 2012+ hood latch is the wiring for the switch. If someone else wishes to experiment with changing the wires around to see if they can get remote start working that way, let me know and I will gladly loan you my test bcm.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
1,709 Posts
I would try to divvy up the segments in the BCM.

Generally at the end or start of each segment will be some numbers specifying where it is, what the part number is, etc... You can then identify the ones you want to keep and update. It might even specify how big the segment is.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
510 Posts
Discussion Starter #11
I'm not sure I understand what you mean by divvy up the segments?

1) Physically the BCM is a single motherboard with 6 connector plugs soldered on. There aren't "segments".

2) Software wise, there aren't segments. It LOOKS like there are, but when you compare reads between units or different reads for the same unit after something was changed you'll see that even in the blank areas there are random changes without an indication of what they relate to. The other issue is that while the vin, serial number and (possible) security code are in clear text everything else is encrypted and comes up as gibberish.


I got the HVAC working more or less properly by turning my temperature knob to dead center then pulling fuse 17 from the internal fuse box for 30 seconds to force a recalibration. I'm not exactly freezing now with the ac on but I'm not melting anymore either. Not too concerned about the cruise control not setting.

All this being said, the testing I have done has met my original goals and I will not be working any further on this project.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
510 Posts
Discussion Starter #12
okay... so here is the final tally.

Swapped original BCM with one already programmed for remote start, check
Installed replacement hood latch, check
Had Brake Pedal Position Sensor calibrated (needed after swapping bcm to re-enable cruse control), check
Replaced original 4 button key fobs with new 5 button key fobs, check.

Price:
used bcm & used latch ($35 together) + new pair of fobs ($50) + sensor calibration ($75): $160

vs

sending original bcm out to be reprogrammed ($249) + used latch ($5 to 10?) + new fobs ($50) + inability to use vehicle while bcm is removed: at a minimum $300, more if sensor needs to be recalibrated after bcm is reprogrammed.

vs

3rd party remote starts that do not have 100% functionality with Cruzes: not sure, I heard too many complaints about programming and key fob issues to even look into them :p
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
1,709 Posts
2) Software wise, there aren't segments. It LOOKS like there are, but when you compare reads between units or different reads for the same unit after something was changed you'll see that even in the blank areas there are random changes without an indication of what they relate to. The other issue is that while the vin, serial number and (possible) security code are in clear text everything else is encrypted and comes up as gibberish.
When you program them, It is segment by segment. It may not be obvious, but they are segmented.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
510 Posts
Discussion Starter #15
Sorry I took so long to reply to this. You'd probably have to put in some kind of safety switch for it to work.

Now to figure out how to expand on this to get a manual transmission to work with it... hmmmm.
I finally tracked down a 2011 Cruze with remote start. If I can get the hood latch from it, I'll see if it uses the same part number as the 10-11 Equinox.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
510 Posts
Discussion Starter #16 (Edited)
I just had some more fun with this project. I updated my original 2011 BCM with the newest calibrations & software available using the VIN of a 2011 Cruze with remote start through the AC Delco TIS system. It definitely updated my BCM, as installing it provided me with an actual configuration setting through my radio to enable/disable remote start. With a 2014 Cruze remote start compatible hood latch installed, it would not work and my car would report the hood ajar. Switching to a 2011 cruze specific hood latch taken from a non-remote start enabled vehicle ended the hood ajar error and allowed remote start to function.

So here are the requirements to add factory remote start to a Gen 1 Cruze:

2011 Cruze ONLY - a bcm pulled from a remote start enabled 2011 cruze, or your original bcm reprogrammed using the vin from a remote start enabled 2011 cruze and key fob(s) or onstar module programmed for remote start.

2012-16 Cruze - a bcm pulled from a remote start enabled 2012-16 cruze, or your original bcm reprogrammed using the vin from a remote start enabled 2012-16 cruze, a remote start compatible hood latch (P/N: 95463828 or 42522220) and key fob(s) or onstar module programmed for remote start.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
254 Posts
I just had some more fun with this project. I updated my original 2011 BCM with the newest calibrations & software available using the VIN of a 2011 Cruze with remote start through the AC Delco TDS system. It definitely updated my BCM, as installing it provided me with an actual configuration setting through my radio to enable/disable remote start. With a 2014 Cruze remote start compatible hood latch installed, it would not work and my car would report the hood ajar. Switching to a 2011 cruze specific hood latch taken from a non-remote start enabled vehicle ended the hood ajar error and allowed remote start to function.

So here are the requirements to add factory remote start to a Gen 1 Cruze:

2011 Cruze ONLY- a bcm programmed for remote start pulled from a 2011 cruze, or your original bcm reprogrammed using the vin from a remote start enabled 2011 cruze and key fobs that support remote start or onstar module programmed for remote start.

2012-16 Cruze - a bcm programmed for remote start pulled from a donor vehicle, or your original bcm reprogrammed using the vin from a remote start enabled cruze, remote start compatible hood latch (P/N: 95463828 or 42522220) and key fobs that support remote start or onstar module programmed for remote start.
So when you updated the 2011 BCM with new software for a VIN with remote start you didn’t get VIN mismatches?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
510 Posts
Discussion Starter #18 (Edited)
So when you updated the 2011 BCM with new software for a VIN with remote start you didn’t get VIN mismatches?
TIS doesn't actually care what VIN is used to program a part. You can let a MDI (or approved pass through device) detect your vehicle, but then change the VIN to whatever you want. I've used this trick to reprogram a Mylink radio from a 2017 Verano using the VIN of a 2016 Cruze Limited so it would work in my 2011.

In the case of the BCM reprogram, I used the VIN from a 2011 Cruze LT so the difference between that car and mine would be minor and still be an official update of the BCM (mine is a 1LT Trim and the donor vehicle is a 2LT trim). The update did change the VIN registered in the BCM to match the 2LTs. A quick change of the VIN back to mine using the procedure in my original post took care of that issue.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
510 Posts
Discussion Starter #20
Just curious as to how you view the output. Have you tried filtering it using Hex or possibly octal?
I hate to say it, but I have no idea what you mean by that. Are you talking about reading the BCM eeprom to change the VIN? It's the same as reading the radio eeprom: in hexadecimal.
 
1 - 20 of 40 Posts
Top