Chevrolet Cruze Forums banner
1 - 20 of 44 Posts

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey guys, I'm new to the Cruze world and also the diesel world. Very interested in learning the ways of diesel people. I purchased my first diesel and Cruze Friday. I absolutely love it so far. I've done as much googling as I can but figured this forum would be much more knowledgeable. What do I need to know to keep my diesel Cruze in tip top shape running as it should. By the way I bought a 2014 in rainforest green with 37,000 miles. I know about the exhaust fluid already. THANKS GUYS AND GALS FOR ANY HELP!!!

·
Super Moderator
7,804 Posts
Welcome.

Why not start reading in the diesel forums? You won't be disappointed.

·
Registered
46 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks! I have! Don't really see what I'm looking for. Lots of info, none about normal diesel maintenance. Do you have any tips? Thanks in advance

·
Registered
355 Posts
Nothing special here really. Most recommend driving the car on the highway as much as possible to help with the DPF and emission system, I drive mine on the highway every once in a while. Most of my driving is city/mixed, and I haven't had any issues with my car, but I only have 7,000 miles. Change your oil regularly, 5,000-6,000 miles is what I am going with. Be sure to use the correct oil. I am sticking with a Dexos 2 oil, but at least make sure the oil is low ash/emission system safe. Drain the fuel/water separator when changing the oil. Use diesel from a station frequently used by other diesels, don't go to a station that has diesel that is never purchased. Your DIC has a gauge that indicates when it is time to change your fuel filter. Really not much different than a gas car. I love mine so far, want nothing but diesel vehicles in my life now.

·
Premium Member
2,217 Posts
Thanks! I have! Don't really see what I'm looking for. Lots of info, none about normal diesel maintenance. Do you have any tips? Thanks in advance