Chevrolet Cruze Forums banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
369 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Changed oil from Mobil1 ESP 5w-30 to Castrol Edge Euro 5w-30 02209366, 06669, I cant believe the change in engine noise.
I was getting a clack (cant really explain it) its completely gone with the Castrol Edge Euro if it comes back I will update this thread.

·
Registered
441 Posts
You might want to be careful running Euro oil in the Cruze. I'm no oil expert, but I believe something with the European additives aren't good for US spec catalytic converters. Hopefully one of the guys that know a lot about oil can chime in and help out. Is this oil Dexos certified by the way? That's an easy way to tell if its safe to use.

·
Premium Member
1,826 Posts
Castrol Edge isn't syntehtic unless they changed recently.

Yes yes yes they put Synthetic on the label. It's a load of ****, it's actaully just hydrocracking.

But it is dexos2 by looks, so it will at least clean well. But I'm not sure about its properties.

·
Registered
369 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Castrol Edge isn't syntehtic unless they changed recently.

Yes yes yes they put Syntehtic on the label. It's a load of ****, it's actaully just hydrocracking.

But it is dexosw by looks, so it will at least clean well. But I'm not sure about its properties.
The new Gas To Liquid Base Stocks (GTL) are HydroCracked as well and they have amazing properties.

·
Administrator
15,750 Posts
The new Gas To Liquid Base Stocks (GTL) are HydroCracked as well and they have amazing properties.
Amazing in the world of petroleum oils and 20 year old PAOs, sure, but petrochemical esters, and in some cases organic esters, make GTL base oils look weak.

·
Administrator
15,750 Posts