Chevrolet Cruze Forums banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
64 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I been getting a code on my 15 cruze,p0171 I believe.. system to lean. So I take it to my local dealer and they process to tell me they don't know the problem... and can't figure it out because I have a flowmaster muffler on? Makes sense-.-.. anyoje else had this problem?

·
Premium Member
2,697 Posts

·
Registered
64 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Well forgot to add i run a kn filter and just that flowmaster.. Right doesn't make sense except maybe the ecu not able to pick up the proper air/fuel? Sounds fishy... but just checked the voicemail.. they left,said I was missing a intake return valve or something.. he doesn't know if that will fix it... weird?.... I had this car since 2 miles.. had the filter and muffler on this whole time-.-

·
Premium Member
1,013 Posts
I could see mufflers causing engine lights. After all. You've changed the parameters. I can't see sensors function the same between a stock car and a modified car. There's bound to be SOME variation in readings. Add in a k&n filter and the variation grows.
The only sensors that matter in a cruze exhaust are the downpipe/midpipe sensors (not sure if there even is a midpipe one). Anything catback the car knows no different. Chopping the exhaust completely off right after the midpipe the car wouldn't even care. The only thing that could possibly make a difference is MORE restriction which would work its way back up the exhaust.

·
Premium Member
1,013 Posts
Well forgot to add i run a kn filter and just that flowmaster.. Right doesn't make sense except maybe the ecu not able to pick up the proper air/fuel? Sounds fishy... but just checked the voicemail.. they left,said I was missing a intake return valve or something.. he doesn't know if that will fix it... weird?.... I had this car since 2 miles.. had the filter and muffler on this whole time-.-