Chevrolet Cruze Forums banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Premium Member
949 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm looking to replace my front right control arm after I verified it was bad (ball joint) during a recent alignment check. According to the alldatadiy.com service manual, all 4 bolts are to be replaced. I have attached one of the steps as reference. It seems odd to me that GM would use TTY bolts for this application. Can anyone with access to a GM service manual confirm this?

I just want to confirm that all 4 bolts mounting the control arm to the car must be replaced as specified in the alldatadiy service manual before I go out and buy these ridiculously expensive bolts (~$30 total from a dealer).

Auto part Text Line art Automotive engine part Drawing

·
Registered
481 Posts
I don't have access to the manual, but as a technician, I wouldn't hesitate to reuse bolts that looks like they're in decent shape. This is said about most bolts on this car like the caliper bolts. I would call and get an itemized quote for the job from GM without mentioning them and see what happens if you're still concerned...

I should mention that (most of the time) when bolts are that important for replacement, they're included in a mood part number. The pinch bolt you show is the only one I've seen ever included in an aftermarket control arm...

·
Premium Member
949 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Ok, so digging into this further, it looks like they revised the control arm part number (and maybe the design?) for the 2014+. It looks like for the 2014+ part number, all bolts are to be replaced. I have not found yet if the 2013 bolts are reusable with the revised control arm, or if they need to be replaced just like the 2014+ control arm mounting bolts.

·
Registered
1,383 Posts