Chevrolet Cruze Forums banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
G'day,
New member here - first post. I've been a long standing VW diesel driver - with great results on longevity and fuel efficiency.
  • 1993 diesel Golf retired at 395,000km
  • 2001 diesel Jetta retired at 485,000km
  • 2010 diesel Jetta still going at 400,000km

So - with 400,000km on my current ride, who knows if VW will even be able to sell another diesel by the time I need to replace it. Who knows if I'd want it? I want to break a half million km with it, but I need to research a replacement and plan as if it will die tomorrow.

My questions becomes - is a diesel Cruze a viable replacement for me? My first concern is longevity over everything else. Second place concern is fuel efficiency. No point saving money on fuel, only to replace the vehicle every every 100,000km...

As you can see - I'm a high mileage driver averaging around 70-75,000km a year. 90%+ of that is highway driving - where the diesels excel and the hybrids are just gas cars with batteries as heavy cargo.

Interested in your opinions. No better source than current Cruze owners! Would you buy it again if someone gave your money back?

Sean.

·
Administrator
25,600 Posts
The CTD hasn't been around that long. Also, there is no North American diesel Cruze for 2016.

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
G'day,
Correct me if I'm wrong, but the european version of the diesel Cruze has been around for some time longer than in North America?

Yeah - read that on the 2016. Apparently 2017 (late 2016) will see the introduction of a new 1.6L diesel instead of the 2.0? In the short term - I can still put my hands on a 2015.

Sean.

·
Administrator
25,600 Posts
G'day,
Correct me if I'm wrong, but the european version of the diesel Cruze has been around for some time longer than in North America?