Chevrolet Cruze Forums banner
1 - 20 of 74 Posts

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well fellow Chevy lovers I am new here so hello! I currently own a 2009 Yukon XL Denali and an '03 Yukon XL. The '03 needs about 2-3K in things done to it and it has 213K miles on it. It's been one of the best vehicle I have ever bought. But with it only being worth 4-5K I can't justify it. I work in the railroad industry and will be driving about 3-4K miles a month around the Midwest for work. The Yukon will cost a lot to drive and with the repairs we want to sell it and get a commuter car. I can't decide whether to get the Diesel 46MPGs or the ECO/Premier that are rated at 42 MPGs. My question mainly is can I actually get 42 out of the gas ECO/premier model? Also from what I have read the Diesel model is pretty reliable with minor emission issues. I will be driving a lot and want the best MPGs and bang for my buck I can get. What's your thoughts? Thanks everyone!

·
Registered
3,340 Posts
Diesel is where the mpg are at. Most guys here are getting 52mpg+ easily

Reactions: MP81

·
Registered
49 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Go diesel, and consider a "lightweight" exhaust system if necessary and enjoy the ride!!!
Diesel is where the mpg are at. Most guys here are getting 52mpg+ easily
I have been reading a ton. Read each of Diesel's 50K write ups and such. Living in TX I won't need to do emissions so I do plan on a "lightweight" exhaust system after the warranty is up. Have these emissions issue ever left anyone completely stranded? Or can you make it to the stealership for a manual regen?

·
Premium Member
481 Posts
I have been reading a ton. Read each of Diesel's 50K write ups and such. Living in TX I won't need to do emissions so I do plan on a "lightweight" exhaust system after the warranty is up. Have these emissions issue ever left anyone completely stranded? Or can you make it to the stealership for a manual regen?