Chevrolet Cruze Forums banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
1 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi I am driving a 2016 Chevy Cruze LT with 215/60/R16 currently on my All Season tire, I am planning to buy a Winter tire and wheel for this coming season, I am a new driver

I have two questions or need suggestions on below topics
1. Is it okay do down sizing and if so what is the recommended size. I will be mostly driving in City with slushy snow expecting on city roads with occasionally county roads with more thicker snow.
2. which is one of the recommended Winter tire which have a good traction on both wet and dry snow and ice.

I am a new member forgive any mistakes. Any help will be greatly appreciated :)

·
Premium Member
294 Posts
Downsizing IMHO is not necessary. I have ran stock size winter tires on stock height and lowered cars in both city and highway driving. Never had any issues getting around.

I have ran Mastercraft Glacier Grips and General Altimax Arctics. Both did well in snow and ice for me, getting me everywhere I needed to go. Of these 2 I can say that I liked the Generals better.

·
Premium Member
1,247 Posts
It's not necessary, but going down in width and up in aspect ratio can increase performance in snow. Like my Saturn, came with 195/60 so I bought snows in 185/65 XL. (the xtra load wasn't necessary, the 185s just came that way, probably for minivans or something)

I wouldn't mind putting those 185/65/15s on the Cruze, except:
I don't have any 5 bolt 15" wheels to put them on.
I don't want to decrease the diameter that much from the 205/55/16 that are on the Cruze now.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Hi I am driving a 2016 Chevy Cruze LT with 215/60/R16 currently on my All Season tire, I am planning to buy a Winter tire and wheel for this coming season, I am a new driver

I have two questions or need suggestions on below topics