Chevrolet Cruze Forums banner
1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Super Moderator
2014 LT program car, Pull Me Over Red
11,593 Posts
This isn't a VIN mismatch issue is it? Somehow the ECU knows it's not the same parts from before.
I am not an expert in this, but if only the engine was changed and all the electronics are the same, I would say no. The VIN or other identifier will most likely only be in the electronics.

by the way:

Welcome Aboard!:welcome:

Don't forget to introduce yourself and your Cruze here.

·
Premium Member
8,003 Posts
Discussion Starter · #6 ·
I am not an expert in this, but if only the engine was changed and all the electronics are the same, I would say no. The VIN or other identifier will most likely only be in the electronics.
I'd expect the identifier to be in the ECU. The engine is just a mechanical thing with a bunch of sensors mounted on it. I don't think any of them have any VIN identifier.

Reactions: Blasirl

·
Registered
6 Posts
Hi. Sorry for lack of introduction. I currently live in New Mexico.

Bought my 2012 Cruze LS new off the lot for the exwife. Got stuck with the payment so I got the car. It has had a pretty rough life. Live on a ranch. About three months ago. Engine locked up nice and tight. Bought a replacement. Got everything swapped in and now I'm at this point.

Thanks for the pinout @anthonysmith93. To let you know there are two separate harnesses that go to the ECM. So both are needed.

Unfortunately. It appears the pinout has changed over the last few years. Were those from Alldata? I will probably need to purchase it myself for the 2012.

Thanks again everyone for the information and suggestion.

·
Premium Member
8,003 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
From the samples I've seen posted here, the Alldata will tell you about any changes during the model year run. That's something my expensive Helm factory manual manual didn't have (and the Alldata is a heck of a lot cheaper).