Chevrolet Cruze Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am approaching 1500 miles on my 2014 2.0TD and am averaging 32.3mpg despite driving like a grandma. I am a salesman in Chicago where constant traffic has limited my average mph at fuel up to between 22.5-25mph despite daily 40 mile one way drives. Also, I run my tires at 42 psi cold. Can I expect my fuel economy to improve as the engine breaks in at similar usage? Will a tune help and are there other tips for improvement?

·
Premium Member
949 Posts
You can expect fuel economy to increase as the engine breaks in, but don't expect a drastic change. At 22.5-25 MPH average speed, you are relatively doing 85%-95% city driving. The Cruze diesel is rated at 27 MPG in all city driving, so you are actually getting a few MPG better than the estimate.

·
Reverend Red Bull
1,017 Posts
If you're getting 32+mpg in almost all city driving, you're right in the ballpark in my experience. On the tank I ran during the first 20 days of this month, I drove 75% in-town miles, mixed with an occasional 10-mile highway cruise between towns, and my average hovered right around 33 mpg with 30 mph average speeds. That tank is a bit rare for me, but it's summer so I'm not doing my one hour each way commute to teach my college courses. My CTD just passed 40,000 miles and 21 months.

If you watch your instant economy, you're probably seeing 40-50 mpg while you're out on the highway (once you're warmed up), and then around 27-30 driving around the city. But then, if Chicago driving is still like it was when I spent time there frequently 9-10 years ago, you're spending a ton of time getting 0 mpg while you sit in traffic or idle along at 3-5mph. Average that out, and your 32.3 is actually pretty good considering the circumstances.

·
Registered
20 Posts
Discussion Starter #5