Chevrolet Cruze Forums banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Seriously considering swapping my 1.4L out and getting a 2.0LTD engine in there as my 1.4L is horrible on fuel and I bought the car because everyone ranted and raved how good on fuel its supposed to, yet my 2001 Toyota Corolla probably got better mileage. Ill never get my money back if I sold the car so i figure if its cost feasible I'll swap to diesel.

Curious if anyone in Cruze land has done this or heard of anyone that has. I already know I'm gonna need engine/trans, wiring harness, ecu and anything else related to the Diesel engine. Is this even possible to attempt? I'm a Diesel mechanic on Duramax engine etc so I know my way around a Diesel engine and I've swapped other cars before.

let me know if I'm crazy to think about doing this.

·
Premium Member
2014 Cruze Diesel, 2007 Cobalt, 1981 Camaro Z28, 2017 Volt
5,913 Posts
It'd be far more cost effective to just buy a Cruze Diesel. The trans is different, as are the axles, the hubs, all the emissions, the cluster, among plenty of other things.

·
Premium Member
8,003 Posts
Not to mention trying to make all the computer systems happy (keeping the BCM happy with the ECM). You'd either have to swap out every thing in the car or come up with some kind of Frankenstein. Not to mention what the resale value would be. You could buy a whole lot of gas for the amount of money it would take you to even attempt it.

·
Premium Member
4,652 Posts
Pretty much everything under the car in the Cruze diesel is different. If it was a project you wanted to undertake just for the challenge, I think you'd be better off to start with a Buick Verano. They are much closer to the Cruze diesel than the gas Cruze is.

From a purely cost-effective perspective - it's a bad idea. For the challenge alone, and money no object, it would be interesting.

·
Premium Member
5,913 Posts