Chevrolet Cruze Forums banner
1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
618 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
2018 Hatch here. So I've read through some of the mountains of info on the gen 1 cruze coolant smell issues but just wondering if any of that carried over to the gen 2?

I've been smelling coolant in the cabin for a couple months now and it seems to do it cold or hot. Took it to the dealer and right on cue, "could not duplicate - no service bulletins." Ok sure buddy.

So I come to ya'll for help in my time of need :)

I'm going to dig around a bit more but wanted to get the conversation started. I did check in my cabin by the heater core sine I was in that area recently routing my wires for my boost gauge but everything looked dry. No damp carpet, etc so I really don't think it's the heater core.

Just wondering if anyone else has had their car in for service on this and what they came up with?
Thanks!

·
Premium Member
638 Posts
On my gen 1 when I had coolant smell inside the cabin it ended up being my oil cooler crossover tube that was leaking onto the hot exhaust. I’m not familiar with the setup of the gen 2 but might be worth a shot to look around the front of the engine driver side

·
Registered
618 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Thanks, I'll check that out.

Just got home from the dealer and popped the hood to look around a bit. I did notice that the cowl was loose so if there was any vapors coming off the tank or hoses or anything they'd have a straight shot into the cabin. But the cap was tight and they said they pressure tested it and it was fine so I really don't know.

·
Registered
618 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Nobody said there was an oil smell…. @Iamantman you find anything new with your coolant? You weren’t low on coolant?