Chevrolet Cruze Forums banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Premium Member
481 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi,

My name is Chris Tobin, I am an editor and photographer for automotive magazines and currently the Editor of Ultimate Diesel Builder's Guide as well as a regular monthly contributor to Diesel World magazine. I reviewed the Cruze Diesel for DW back in 2014 when it was first available in GMs media fleet. I really liked the car and if it wasn't for not wanting to have a car payment again I would have bought one right then and there. I currently drive a 2006 VW Jetta TDI as our daily driver but am seriously considering allowing myself to fall under a car payment again and looking to replace the TDI with a Cruze Diesel. I am also considering a BMW 335d which for a high mile 2009-2011 models are falling in a similar price range as a low mile 2014-2015 Cruze Diesel. Whatever I decide, it will have a diesel engine under the hood!

I also have a 2001 Chevy Silverado 2500 HD with a 500+ HP Duramax under the one-piece fiberglass hood that we are building for future off road racing and well as other project vehicles in the family.

I am looking for more insight on the Cruze and the diesel specifically as far as performance upgrades and what you guys would want to see as far as magazine coverage of the car, since if I do buy one I would be doing upgrade articles on it in the magazine. I am familiar with the guys at Fleece Performance Engineering (they did most of the engine work on my Duramax truck and they are great guys) and would likely be doing their tuning for the Cruze right away, but what else is available?

Let me know what you guys think and what you would like to see.

Take care guys, maybe I'll be joining the Cruze ranks soon...

·
Super Moderator
7,804 Posts