Chevrolet Cruze Forums banner

1 - 20 of 62 Posts

·
Registered
28 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
WP1.jpg

How to: change the water pump!

listed below is a brief list of tools that will be needed.

5/8 inch socket
7/16 inch socket
5/16 inch socket
3/8 inch socket wrench extension
pliers
jack and block of wood (better to use A frame and hoist to lift motor)
Blue loctite threadlocker
Thermostat and Water pump RTV silicone gasket maker
paper/pen
coolant
screwdriver

I AM NOT A PROFESSIONAL MECHANIC, this is only a guide, common sense is still a necessity

I bought my water pump from Advance Auto Parts and the main gasket that connects to the pump with the motor was included, this gasket looked like a paper style "felt feeling" gasket, the original gasket the cruze has is a metal gasket covered in sealant.

BELOW IS A SERIES OF STEPS TO COMPLETE THE CHANGE OUT OF WATER PUMPS, not every single detail is listed below but enough to get the average tool guy finished with this task.

Step 1

check out the new water pump, the water pumps are different from a 1.4 motor and a 1.8, this posting is for a 1.4 Turbo Cruze, make sure the gasket that connects water pump to motor is included. Also a new gasket that connects the water pump to the thermostat housing is recommended, this gasket looks more like a rubber ring?

WP2.jpg
WP3.jpg

Step 2

Empty coolant from car by unhooking a lower hose from radiator...PS. alot of coolant will come out, be prepared. then use A frame and hoist to hold the engine because a motor mount will be disconnected later in this thread....i didnt have an A frame and hoist, so i used a jack and block of wood, this method is more dangerous and not recommended but if used, make sure block of wood is not putting pressure on the oil pan drain bolt...(what we loosen and remove for an oil change)
WP4.jpg
i jacked up to put just enough pressure to barely begin to raise the motor

Step 3