Chevrolet Cruze Forums banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Premium Member
2015 Cruze LT 1.4, aka Yuffie, aka RecklessRed
289 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I will preface this with saying that I am by no means an expert. A LOT of reading and trial/error have gone into what I have learned, so if there are errors, please don't be a **** about it, but for sure post in the thread so we can clear it up.

The VVE tables (Virtual Volumetric Efficiency) are interesting. They are not the same as the older VE tables in previous computers, but more of an abstraction to calculate data for the SD coefficient tables. SD (speed density) is essentially a way of measuring the air coming into the engine sans MAF. The MAF reads incoming air by a heated wire and the voltage it reads (or rather: it wants to maintain a certain level of heat, and to do that, requires electricity; more specifically the frequency of the electricity being conducted. As the air blowing by cools the hot wire, the computer has to turn up the frequency of the voltage, basically "forcing more pressure through the pipe" (electricity behaves very much like water in that sense) to maintain the flow of current (electricity or water.. they are not dissimilar in that way. The freq. measured has to be calibrated like any other precision measuring device. Sorry about the late edit. I just find it interesting.). As cold air moves over the wire, it cools down, changing the voltage (refer to above-aside parenthetical), which in turn gets sent to the ECM and converted into airflow (in lbs/s, I believe).