Chevrolet Cruze Forums banner

1 - 20 of 46 Posts

·
Administrator, Resident Tater Salad
17,005 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Well, I'm new to my car, but know it well enough to know how it normally behaves. Today the weather hit 89 degrees - the hottest weather I've been in with it. I've never really felt like I needed to ask this car for more power (the 1.8 was a different story when I test drove it) in around-town driving, but today the lag was HORRENDOUS after shifting to the next gear at like 2500-3000 RPM. I felt like I needed to rev the heck out of it to find the power band since it didn't seem to be picking up with power til 2500 RPM instead of the normal 1800.

I owned a turbocharged Volvo before this model, and it was recommended that you use 91 octane in it (87 was the minimum). I tried 87 and it ran like crap, especially in the summer with AC on, so I usually used 89 and the powerband was pretty good. That one was a high-pressure turbo where it didn't even pick up til 2500 RPM with power, but the AC always exacerbated that lag to an extent.

My question to you guys is 1) Is this normal for these cars (AC creating a lot of drag on a really tiny engine?) and 2) Do they do any better in the summer time if I were to run say, 89 or 93 octane in it?

Thanks in advance!

·
Administrator
25,604 Posts
Run higher octane. The 1.4T engine in the Cruze has a lot of factory settings that allow it to run on lower octane gas, but it really wants 89 or 91. Try boosting your octane one grade at a time to see the differences.

·
Banned
355 Posts
1) yes
2) yes