Chevrolet Cruze Forums banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,
My apologies if this has already been addressed - I did a search of idle problems and came up with some interesting information but nothing the same as my problem.
First I am a mechanic have been most of my life (I am 60) but mostly Industrial machines and Diesel powered trucks.JD tractors. excavators front end loaders etc.
I have a 2014 cruise with the 1.8 auto 10,000 miles and this problem seems to have started after the first "FREE" oil change. The idle goes to 1400 rpm in stop and go traffic and stays there. Bring the car to a stop and it still at 1400 rpm only way to stop it is to put in N and rev it up past 3,000 rpm then it falls back to 800 or so rpm. The reason I think it started at the oil change is the MPG dropped 2 to 3 mpg since that was done. The reason it took me so long to notice is I don't drive in rush hour 99 percent highway and freeway driving. On tue I was forced to do a parts pickup in rush hour 4 hrs worth to get parts for a Terex front end loader. This is when it became very clear to me as I almost smashed the car in front of me that something was scewed up.

Of course it was in the dealers today and the usual "cannot duplicate customer complaint" I told them it was unsafe to drive and they could have it until they fixed it. So they are going to look at it again monday probably find nothing again and put a black box on it for me to record malfunctions == gee maybe they will pay me to do there jobs too.

thank you for your time

Alan

·
Premium Member
8,003 Posts
That's a good one. If it was the throttle body sticking, I think it would set a code. If it was the gas pedal sensor, I'd think it would set a code as well (unless it was the mechanical linkage.) A bad coolant sensor can cause a high idle as the computer thinks the engine is very cold - but the Cruze has multiple temp sensors and will complain if there's too big a disagreement.