Chevrolet Cruze Forums banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi, Newbie here on this forum. I am in the market for a car. Been looking at the Gen 1 Eco, but see the EPA numbers for the Gen 2 are higher. I am looking for the best fuel economy possible as well as range per tank. Wanted to reach out to the experts here to get your feedback. I prefer a manual trans, but I see the best economy on fueleconomy.gov for the Gen 2 is with the auto transmission? Thanks.

·
Premium Member
1,122 Posts
Best range, Gen1 diesel. Best mpg, Gen2 diesel stick shift.
The Gen2 is larger, lighter, slightly more aerodynamic (but the lower Cd is offset by the fact that it's larger), and has more efficient engines, gas and diesel.

If you don't want to go diesel, I suspect Gen2 sedan with stick shift is the winner, with Gen1 Eco stick shift following close behind.

My Gen2 1.4L auto sedan is capable of low 50s mpg at a constant 55mph, but that drops off noticeably above 60mph. Driving at 75, the 40-42 epa rating is about the best I can hope for.

·
Administrator, Resident Tater Salad
16,800 Posts
Hands down the diesels are the fuel economy champs. The Gen 1 is quiet (inside - pretty noisy outside) and feels very heavy on the road. The Gen 2 diesel feels a lot like a normal gasoline model; very little difference aside from the shove of torque and slight diesel clatter on the outside.

If you don't want a diesel, I've owned both generations of 1.4 and this is what I'd say: