Chevrolet Cruze Forums banner

1 - 20 of 53 Posts

·
Registered
118 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
This is the second time I've experienced this. Same circumstances, same hill, same part of the day, same temperature outside. But only twice out of the month I've owned it commuting on the same road daily.

I have no experience with turbo cars, so I don't know if this is what is called "lag".

Manual transmission, 90 degrees Fahrenheit, about 6pm, sunny, low humidity, uphill about a 6% grade, about 2 miles from starting the car, 60 miles per hour speed limit, car is using 91 octane, about 1500 miles on the odo.

Typically I leave work, hop on the bypass and set the cruise to 62mph. About 2 miles down the road as the grade is increasing I need to shift into second as the rpms are dropping fast. I shift into 5th and flip the cruise back on and keep heading up the remaining 3 miles of uphill until I head down the other side of the mountain. Once the car hits 5th, it maintains speed going up the hill at 63.

Today, and this was the second time, I shift into 5th and the car keeps decelerating as if it is losing power. Revs drop to about 1600 so I shift to 4th. WOT. Revs pop up to about 2k, then continue to drop. I am now at about 45mph when I shift into 3rd. Now the car finally wakes up and I start to accelerate back up to the actual speed limit.

Both times that this happened I was not using the cruise control. This is a 1% instance that I am not using the cruise while commuting. I am not sure if that has anything to do with the issue, but should be mentioned in the parameter set.