Chevrolet Cruze Forums banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a 2012 manual transmission Cruze Eco. ~59k miles. I recently changed over to Amsoil synchromesh transmission fluid ~35k miles. Filled 2.5 qt as recommended on the DIY tutorial. Noticed a improvement in the clutch feel when the oil was changed.

Recently I have noticed what feels like a sputter or loss of power in second and third gear in higher rpm's (around 3-4k rpms). Seemed to go away after the car was warmed up, but not always. Not sure what this could be, the clutch slipping? Misfire in one of the cylinders? Not sure. I am by no means a car expert.

Recently changed the transmission oil wanting to see if that would improve the issues. I have attached a picture of the oils on a paper towel. the transmission color that I drained out has me worried. The fluid on the left hand side is new amsoil syncromesh fluid. the fluid in the middle is the fluid that was just drained. The fluid on the right hand side is the original fluid I drained out at 35k miles. luckily I still had it around. I have no idea exactly what type of fluid this is since it was the fluid in the car when I bought it used. Highly likely that is OEM fluid since I bought it with 30k miles on it.

I did a quick run around the neighborhood after the fluid change and I don't notice the engine sputtering. I will update after I have a few hundred miles on the new fluid to see if I still notice the sputter.

The fluid just drained looks gray. Has anyone else seen this in transmission fluid? Is it the wear of the gear metal? A indication of some other problem?

Thanks for the responses.

Attachments

·
Super Moderator
7,786 Posts
Based on my experience with motor oils, I'd say that the discolouration is a result of two different oils being combined. If you were able to do another two or three drains and refills with the same oil I think that you'll achieve a color stability.

·
Resident Forum Drunkard