Chevrolet Cruze Forums banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
158 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Chevy Cruze Mini D2S 3.0 Retrofit

Hello this is a DIY retrofit for my 2013 Chevrolet Cruze but should be the same for any first generation North American Cruze. This was my first retrofit and This DIY should be followed with a grain of salt because of this. I am not an expert. Also comments on what I could do better are appreciated.

Also a lot of the information for this retrofit was found online so the parts that I vaguely talked about can be found on Google or YouTube.

Things you will need:
-A set of Aftermarket Headlights [TYC used in mine]
-A set of Morimoto Mini D2S Projectors[orbit shrouds shown, 4300k morimoto D2S bulbs]
I used: Bi-xenon Morimoto Mini Stage III Kit (D2S) From The Retrofit Source[TRS]
This will need an h13 bixenon harness
-An oven or heat gun
-New butyl rubber is suggested
-RTV or silicon sealant
-epoxy
-assortment of tools [screw driver Philips and flat, t20 driver, dremel , belt sander, 6mm allen wrench]

First start by removing all the pieces screwed onto housing and bulbs. image1.jpg Then bake the headlights at 250F for 8 minutes and start separating. There are various videos online you can find of this.

Now it is beneficial to remove the reflector bowl from the headlight housing. This can easily be achieved by turning the adjuster screw all the way out which I think is an 6mm Allen. Then you can pop the bowl out using a screw driver and prying behind sockets. image2.jpg image3.jpg

Now that the bowl is separated you will need to remove a bit of material from the back of the reflector bowl. I used a belt sander at this point but there is probably other ways too. You can also take more material If you like I removed enough to get everything to fit and still have a steady mounting place.
image4.jpg image5.jpg image6.jpg