Chevrolet Cruze Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
ok all I have a Radio that is RPO:UZ6
I'm looking to trade one for RPO:UQA
I will trade and also reprogram it for you free of charge as long as you can mail me yours and I will mail you mine.
I'm located in Canada Alberta
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
7,718 Posts
From what I've been though, the difference is just the programming file. The same chip you change the VIN on. No physical difference.

Note that the unit won't be labeled. You'll only find out by doing a RPO lookup against the VIN of the car it came out of.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
1,225 Posts
Exactly what @ChevyGuy said. The radios all have the same RPO codes and part numbers regardless of whether you have UZ6 or UQA.

RPO code UQA adds the Pioneer amplifier in the trunk and a different set of speakers. In order to do this swap, you will also need the center dash speaker and grill and the rear deck 6x9s with the grills. The tweeters are the same for both, so you don't need to change those. And, you will need to add all of the correct wiring for the Pioneer amp to the trunk.

There are three different versions for the radio. None of them are specific to UQA.

U2K+UYE = the base green screen radio
UFU+UP9 = MyLink with 7" touch screen
UHQ+UP9 = MyLink with Navigation
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
1,225 Posts
If you don't like the sound of your retrofitted MyLink, first try adjusting the tone. Sit in the car and adjust the treble, mid and bass separately until it sounds the way you like. Don't use the same settings you used with your old green screen radio. They have different electronics.

If you still don't like the sound, then your best bet would be to do XtremeRevolution's SQ Audio upgrade. This will give you almost competition quality sound for a pretty good price and probably about the same amount of hassle as adding the Pioneer amplifier and speakers. Check out these threads:

http://www.cruzetalk.com/forum/137-gen1-audio-electrical-tutorials/6056-car-audio-sq-how-thread.html

http://www.cruzetalk.com/forum/36-gen1-audio-electronics/11204-sq-car-audio-thread-v2.html
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
7,718 Posts
RPO code UQA adds the Pioneer amplifier in the trunk and a different set of speakers.
Just to emphasize, the door speakers are different. So, with the exception of the tweeters, you're buying a complete set of speakers.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
1,225 Posts

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
7,718 Posts
The configurations are stored on a memory chip on the main board (not the same chip that holds the VIN).
The one for premium/non-premium IS on that small chip with the VIN. The radio I have in my car now came from a 2015 that had UQA. It sounded dead (a gap in the midrange) since I didn't have a bright speaker in my dashboard. I reflashed the radio using a file I got from my original 2013 MyLink and the sound went back to normal.

I'd imagine that a radio configured for UZ6 installed in a UQA car would lean toward a pronounced mid-range sounding like a 5-transistor AM radio with a 2" speaker.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
1,225 Posts
The one for premium/non-premium IS on that small chip with the VIN. The radio I have in my car now came from a 2015 that had UQA. It sounded dead (a gap in the midrange) since I didn't have a bright speaker in my dashboard. I reflashed the radio using a file I got from my original 2013 MyLink and the sound went back to normal.

I'd imagine that a radio configured for UZ6 installed in a UQA car would lean toward a pronounced mid-range sounding like a 5-transistor AM radio with a 2" speaker.
There may be some tone configurations on the small chip with the VIN, but some of the configurations for the Pioneer system might also be stored in a different chip. Today I plugged in another MyLink radio I had picked up from a 2013 Cruze without the Pioneer system (UZ6 not UQA). I had the same problem that @cmarkwart is having. No audio at all. I plugged the radio back in that came from a known Pioneer system, and audio was good.

I am not sure why this happens, but plugging a MyLink from a car that didn't have Pioneer into a car that does have Pioneer produces no audio.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
7,718 Posts
I am not sure why this happens, but plugging a MyLink from a car that didn't have Pioneer into a car that does have Pioneer produces no audio.
Probably not sending the signal needed to turn on or unmute the amp. Did you try copying the contents of the chip from the UQA amp to the UZ6 amp and then plugging it into a UQA system?

While it's possible, I have my doubts that the bigger chip is different for the same model year run. The reason is, it take time to flash the bigger chip. So either they'd have to be pre-flashed and tracked so the right one gets to the right car (yes, that happens for a lot of things - but still a pain), or everything needed for the year is in the big rom and the car-to-car details are flashed into the small chip as part of waking up the car for the first time. Seems to me the engineers are paid the big bucks to simplify and streamline the production line - not to make things easy for the programmers.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
1,225 Posts
Probably not sending the signal needed to turn on or unmute the amp. Did you try copying the contents of the chip from the UQA amp to the UZ6 amp and then plugging it into a UQA system?

While it's possible, I have my doubts that the bigger chip is different for the same model year run. The reason is, it take time to flash the bigger chip. So either they'd have to be pre-flashed and tracked so the right one gets to the right car (yes, that happens for a lot of things - but still a pain), or everything needed for the year is in the big rom and the car-to-car details are flashed into the small chip as part of waking up the car for the first time. Seems to me the engineers are paid the big bucks to simplify and streamline the production line - not to make things easy for the programmers.
Yes, I tried copying the content of the chip. No luck. @cmarkwart tried it also (I sent him a copy of the contents of the chip from my radio that came from a car with Pioneer).

I can't claim that I know anything about how they program or manufacture the radios. The only thing I can say right now is that we now have two instances where a MyLink from a non-Pioneer car did not work in a Pioneer car. Currently, I have no idea if there is an easy fix for this.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
39 Posts
Discussion Starter #17
Tried with both units I have I copied my old chip and programed it to a non amp unit and no sound again. other one I completely deleted the chip and same nothing. now I have to find a unit that has come out of a car that has a 9 speaker setup.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
270 Posts
99.99% sure the programming that sets up the radio for the pioneer system resides in the cypress flash memory, person can buy access to the gm programming and change it BUT you need a vin, which can be from another vehicle
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
26 Posts
Yes, I tried copying the content of the chip. No luck. @cmarkwart tried it also (I sent him a copy of the contents of the chip from my radio that came from a car with Pioneer).

I can't claim that I know anything about how they program or manufacture the radios. The only thing I can say right now is that we now have two instances where a MyLink from a non-Pioneer car did not work in a Pioneer car. Currently, I have no idea if there is an easy fix for this.
Were you able to figure this out? I'm having the same issue. My old radio on my 2012 Cruze Eco has UEW and worked with the Pioneer amp. I got a new (used) radio from a 2013 Cruze LTZ with RPO codes UHQ UP9 and UWG. Installed it, all the graphics seem to work, but there's no sound at all.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
1,225 Posts
Were you able to figure this out? I'm having the same issue. My old radio on my 2012 Cruze Eco has UEW and worked with the Pioneer amp. I got a new (used) radio from a 2013 Cruze LTZ with RPO codes UHQ UP9 and UWG. Installed it, all the graphics seem to work, but there's no sound at all.
If you have the Pioneer option, then you need to find a radio that came out of a car with the Pioneer option. Installing a non-Pioneer radio in a Pioneer car will result in no sound. There are no codes on the radio that tell you if the car had the Pioneer option because there are no hardware differences in the radios. The Pioneer option was programmed into the software after the radio was installed in the car. There are two easy ways to tell if it came out of a car with Pioneer. One is to get the VIN number and go to a parts website that lets you lookup parts by VIN number. If the VIN number lookup lists the center dash speaker or the amplifier then it was a car with Pioneer. The other way is to look at pictures of the car. If it had a sunroof or a center speaker on the dash then it had the Pioneer option. Be careful with 2016 1st gen cars. In that year, some of the non-Pioneer cars had the grill for the center speaker, but no center speaker or Pioneer option. A third way is to look at the sticker in the glove box for RPO code UQA. Good luck.
 
1 - 20 of 20 Posts
Top