Chevrolet Cruze Forums banner
1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So happy that I came across this forum. I'm a new driver who recently purchased a 2013 Cruze (1st car) which I had been looking at for months. My car has 71,000 miles on it and still has that new car smell. I am relying on my friends and research to know about maintaining this car cause I am scared out of my mind. Any advice would you give a first time car owner? It would be so appreciated.

Thanks in advance!

·
Premium Member
5,638 Posts
Well welcome there Mechalia! You still might have a little bit of the factory powertrain warranty to help if a related problem comes up. My Car lost its Brand new car smell by the following week. These days they have stuff to make it smell new

·
Administrator
25,596 Posts
Welcome to CruzeTalk.

Take a look in the owners manual - you can download one from Chevrolet Cars, Trucks, SUVs, Crossovers and Vans if you didn't one - and look at the Severe service schedule. At a minimum I would change the engine oil (dexos1) and filter and the transmission fluid. If it's a manual transmission use AMSOil synchromesh. I see you're in Connecticut so I would also change the brake fluid as well.

Note on the transmission fluid, don't use a machine that pumps the fluid out. Let the car do the pumping.

Also, unless you purchased a service contract your car is out of the B2B warranty but you still have Powertrain warranty.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
I guess one more week to go before that new car smell is gone then. Thanks for the warm welcome. I am certainly going to deep dive into the abundance of articles on here. This is wild.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·