Chevrolet Cruze Forums banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Hi everyone,

Newbie here. Got a second hand 2009 Cruze diesel a few months ago.
It's my first diesel car :)

P.S.
I'm only got 39 MPG (6.1L/100KMs) on the highway (with A/C on and three people+one luggage), is normal for 2-liter turbo diesel?

·
Premium Member
4,132 Posts
That seems all right, where are you as obviously not in the US?

·
Premium Member
731 Posts
Hi everyone,

Newbie here. Got a second hand 2009 Cruze diesel a few months ago.
It's my first diesel car :)

P.S.
I'm only got 46 MPG on the highway (with A/C on and three people+one luggage), is normal for 2-liter turbo diesel?
With the extra weight and A/C on, I'd say that's pretty good. When I went on a road trip (Just myself and light luggage) I got up to 56MPG for a brief distance with mostly flat ground and a couple of downhill stretches. My overall average for the 2500 mile trip was about where you're at with mostly highway driving.

Of course, with yours being a 2009 it's going to have a different engine than my 2014. For a Diesel in general, 46MPG highway is great.

·
Administrator
25,600 Posts
Welcome. Is that 46 MPG Imperial or 46 MPG US?

·
Registered
16 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
With the extra weight and A/C on, I'd say that's pretty good. When I went on a road trip (Just myself and light luggage) I got up to 56MPG for a brief distance with mostly flat ground and a couple of downhill stretches. My overall average for the 2500 mile trip was about where you're at with mostly highway driving.

Of course, with yours being a 2009 it's going to have a different engine than my 2014. For a Diesel in general, 46MPG highway is great.
So, 46 MPG, I mean approx. 5.9-6.1 L/100KM. still a bit confuse about Imperial (UK gallon) and US gallon. In Australia, we use L/100KM :)

·
Administrator
25,600 Posts