Chevrolet Cruze Forums banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
So I'm new to Chevys. I have a 2012 Cruze LS. I've noticed that when I coast to a stop, the car feels like I'm very slightly tapping the brake. I don't know much about cars, but it feels like it might happen as it's downshifting. I'll try to pinpoint it some more tomorrow, but it seems to happen around 20-25 MPH. I think it also subsides a bit as the car warms up (again, something I'll test tomorrow) I didn't pay too much mind to it because the 2017 Equinox I rented (which literally had 18 miles on it) did the same thing. The whole reason I had the Equinox was because my dealership was certifying my Cruze so that I'd have a warranty, which is another reason I'm not overly concerned. Is this something that is common in Chevys? Thanks in advance!

Amado

·
Administrator, Resident Tater Salad
17,488 Posts
GM's 6-speed transmissions are a bit jerky when downshifting as you're slowing down. Other manufacturers are too, to an extent - Toyota and Ford transmissions are a bit noticeable as well.

Rather than unlock the torque converter when the gas is let off like old 4-speeds used to do, these transmissions keep the converter locked and downshift through the gears at very low RPM as you come to a stop. This does give the effect of a small increase in engine braking as you're coasting along and hit the next gear down.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
This makes sense. My last two cars were Fords...but a 2000 Focus SE and an 2002 Explorer Sport. I'm not used to today's transmissions haha! Thanks for the input!

·
10,712 Posts
This makes sense. My last two cars were Fords...but a 2000 Focus SE and an 2002 Explorer Sport. I'm not used to today's transmissions haha! Thanks for the input!