Chevrolet Cruze Forums banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
32 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello Cruzer's decided to join this forum, got a lot of good tips and have some of my own so thought I would join in. Bought a 2011 Cruze LTZ and did not realize the issues common to this model year. Went through two turbo's three water pumps, and the rest of the weird stuff going on from coolant smells, climate control issues, and the basics.
Sadly all these problems happened before hitting 50K in miles!. I sure hope the next 50K is better, because my skepticism of this small turbo engine living past 100K is questionable.
I am dealing with the mysterious disappearing coolant that doesn't show signs externally of a leak, nor does pulling plugs show its burning it. I lose about a cup full every month.
Being a former mechanic I never saw much good come domestically in turbo engines. I am hoping this time around GM got it right? My other choice was a Dodge Dart turbo but was tipped off that would not be a good choice. My MPG has been 29-30 mpg in mixed driving which even in the dead of winter I managed 27 so I really can't complain about mpg but clearly you have to drive a small turbo conservatively to achieve any kind of decent mpg. I still think the Cruze is a bit too heavy for this 1.4 engine and its horsepower. But it's also clear GM was aiming for the low end torque not HP in the 1.4. Its really a economically focused engine not performance.

·
Registered
576 Posts
Welcome! This forum is great for suggestions from how to fix stuff to appearance mods. Hope you enjoy it here!

·
Registered
1,335 Posts