Chevrolet Cruze Forums banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I recently hit 100,000 miles on my '13 1.4L rs lt. Replaced the valve cover, water house, inlet hose, and a gasket (dont remeber what one). New battery last week. Car was in idle and just shut off today. Started right back up and has done this 2x in one day. I'm going to get my alternator tested just because, and I know my purge valve canister is needing replaced as it has the loud ticking. My question is, would this be what causes the car to shut off? I did notice a gas smell once today. I'm just trying to diagnose the problem before it doesnt start at all.

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Also, would this cause burning oil? Just another issue I have noticed, havent seen a leak so I'm assuming its buring it.

·
Registered
55 Posts
I am not a mechanic but will respond because of my own DIY experience with this issue.
My 2012 Eco acted weird- running rough and starting hard at the gas pump after filling the tank.

A code and CEL popped up, it pertained to the evaporative purge valve/solenoid. The louder than normal clicking is the failing solenoid, (not to be confused with the normal fuel injectors clicking).
I purchased a new purge valve unit from a local parts store ($40 but less on line) and installed it myself in 10 minutes. It is right on top off the intake manifold, easy fix but be careful of the plastic parts, check out youtube videos. CEL turned off after a week of driving cycles.

This issue has nothing to do with burning oil, battery or alternator. It is simply a way to not let fuel system vapors escape into the atmosphere, but when the valve fails, fuel cannot flow consistently.

Burning Oil- Please read the PCV system information posted by the very experienced members of this forum asap. You will need to go further than just replacing the valve cover.

Hope this helps, I invite corrections if I am mistaken on anything.

·
Registered
3 Posts