Chevrolet Cruze Forums banner
1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
33 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I've recently went for a service (wrote extensively about it in another thread on how it cost me $600+)... and dealership was supposed to top off coolant as part of the service. Today when inspecting under the hood I saw this:

20170628_130529 (Large).jpg

Now, I am just learning about my car thanks to this forum. I've read the manual and my understanding is that coolant level should be at level that arrow is pointing. Am I correct? Or not? I'll be going back to dealership anyway because of some other problems... but would be helpful to know in advance if this is also something they should look at. Any advice you have and care to share is appreciated.

·
Administrator, Resident Tater Salad
17,346 Posts
That's low!

Yes, coolant level when *cold* should be at or around the area where the arrow is.

Some of us have found that the O-ring on the cap leaks a bit when filled correctly, but you've likely got either a slow leak from elsewhere (water pump, water outlet, or expansion tank to water outlet hose are the most common on 1.4).

As for the O-ring:
http://www.cruzetalk.com/forum/25-g...fix-coolant-odors-coolant-loss-reservoir.html

Ugh, I need to ask him for his pictures and upload them directly to the site.

·
Registered
1,382 Posts
That's low!

Ugh, I need to ask him for his pictures and upload them directly to the site.
What ever happened to BlueAngel? Did he sell? It's because of his efforts with this o-ring fix and the trials by Obermd that I still have my cruze after 5 years. I go through an o-ring every winter. I can seal it up great in the summer, but the cold winters we have make the coolant bottle leak and the gasket get's rock hard.

Good Luck original poster (OP.)

·
Administrator, Resident Tater Salad
17,346 Posts