Chevrolet Cruze Forums banner

41 - 60 of 93 Posts

·
Registered
Joined
·
124 Posts
Discussion Starter · #41 · (Edited)
If you head up there it seems sunday afternoons is the best time to find somebody there, and they are doing dynos. Let me know if you are going and I may be able to come up.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
2,973 Posts
1654 Crofton Blvd, Unit E, Crofton, MD 21114 across the way from were the friendlys used to be if you are familiar with the area. If you head up there it seems sunday afternoons is the best time to find somebody there, and they are doing dynos. Let me know if you are going and I may be able to come up.
It’s a long drive from Florida but if the work is good.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
124 Posts
Discussion Starter · #43 ·
lol.. you can also send him ecu but dyno is always the best. Ironically he moved from florida. I will let you know how the tune works after dyno. I am working on fixing a boost leak before.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
124 Posts
Discussion Starter · #44 ·
Got some ksport coil overs put on .. they handle like rails. may need to change to higher spring rate in front as the engine is heavier. Just for anybody out there yes the ksports are a direct fit on a diesel cruze. Worked with the manufacture some to figure out as they had never had anybody try. with the new coil overs and tune I think i will demolish my lap times... summit point is up first in april, I have no prior record there but VIR I know I will beat 2:50 my old best lap time. Before the car would sort of fall of on accel on the long straights after hiting 85-90 and only top out at 100. Now I can get to 110 rolling start from 40 which about what I should be able enter the straight with. Also got the trans cooler in so there is more confidence in that part of the equation. Props to Performance Engine Tuning and Dyno Facility | Tuning Tech FS Frank is a genius when I comes to ECUs.. if you are local check them out.
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
2,973 Posts
Got some ksport coil overs put on .. they handle like rails. may need to change to higher spring rate in front as the engine is heavier. Just for anybody out there yes the ksports are a direct fit on a diesel cruze. Worked with the manufacture some to figure out as they had never had anybody try. with the new coil overs and tune I think i will demolish my lap times... summit point is up first in april, I have no prior record there but VIR I know I will beat 2:50 my old best lap time. Before the car would sort of fall of on accel on the long straights after hiting 85-90 and only top out at 100. Now I can get to 110 rolling start from 40 which about what I should be able enter the straight with. Also got the trans cooler in so there is more confidence in that part of the equation. Props to Performance Engine Tuning and Dyno Facility | Tuning Tech FS Frank is a genius when I comes to ECUs.. if you are local check them out.
Yah the coils for the gas are the same for the Cruze. That’s why I went bilstien B14. Did you add the white line rear sway bar yet? Did that tuning place do a certain tune for off road use only?
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
124 Posts
Discussion Starter · #46 ·
No sway bar yet I was going to see what happens with the coil overs on track I can control over steer understeer to an extent through adjustments on just those its almost tight enough to debate a sway bar. Yes it would be better but I need to do one thing at a time as I am learning vehicle dynamics.. As to the tune... maybe...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
124 Posts
Discussion Starter · #47 ·
Finally got it dynoed ... Not to shabby.. adjusted hp for this dyno should put the crank close to 190 horse and 300 torque. Finally got a good reading on boost and we found what looks like a bad turbo, so my numbers should go up after replacing it.
291548
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
2,973 Posts
If the turbo is bad are you gonna replace with a rebuild and keep the VNT? Or swap to a well matched dual Bb type non vnt
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
193 Posts
I found the dyno specs of the original OZ tune cached in google. You can see how it compares to what you have now.

@2100 RPM: +73hp/183 lb-ft
@3000 RPM : +31hp/54 lb-ft
@3200-3800 RPM: +30hp/49 lb-ft

There is a tuner in the Netherlands that said there is a Turbo for the 2010-2011 SAABs 9-5 A20DTH that is good for 220 HP. It "may be" compatible with ours. He quoted me $599 for the turbocharger if it will work. He said with supporting ECU programming the AF40 can work with that power level. If you want me to pass on the info send me a message.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
124 Posts
Discussion Starter · #51 ·
I'm researching compressor maps to see if the other ones I have found will be an improvement or just move my sweet spot. I like the low end boost the oem one has but I would like a little more on top.
this is one of the ones im looking at, somebody posted it on here before https://www.xmanturbos.com/product-...rger-for-gen1-chevy-cruse-2-0-di?currency=USD
Yes diesel4ever if you could pass info I will see what their maps are like... that is a really good price considering the oem is 1200 with a knock off at 800.. even with 100 for shipping that is a good price.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
19 Posts
I'm researching compressor maps to see if the other ones I have found will be an improvement or just move my sweet spot. I like the low end boost the oem one has but I would like a little more on top.
this is one of the ones im looking at, somebody posted it on here before GTB1756vk hybrid turbocharger for gen1 Chevy Cruse 2.0CDTi A20DTH | XmanTurbos
Yes diesel4ever if you could pass info I will see what their maps are like... that is a really good price considering the oem is 1200 with a knock off at 800.. even with 100 for shipping that is a good price.
the turbo exergy had for my car , not installed was from ISI & ELDEN High Tech Turbo. still have the box it came in . I dont know how it would compare to what you are looking at , pics of it are in the post:
2014 2.0 diesel too much boost?
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
1,818 Posts
Just an FYI there are a whopping 4 people in the world who can tune the Gen 1 diese. Of which only 2 were somewhat successful. I’ll leave it an excercise to you to fill in the names.


Anyone else is going to be using the efi live cax. Anyone else not using the cax is eitheir scamming you or has no idea what they are doing. Or both.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
19 Posts
Just an FYI there are a whopping 4 people in the world who can tune the Gen 1 diese. Of which only 2 were somewhat successful. I’ll leave it an excercise to you to fill in the names.


Anyone else is going to be using the efi live cax. Anyone else not using the cax is eitheir scamming you or has no idea what they are doing. Or both.
with the multiple codes I have from emissions on wifes car I am trying to decide what to do. If I were to dowload cax & put on FS3 will those files change what I currently have for where the turbo boost etc. is at or just lighten things up? her's is the 14 from exergy & mine is a 15 . mine is still stock you can definitely tell the responsiveness difference . they changed what it read for the boost slightly , adding a little on the low end and less on the upper
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
1,818 Posts
with the multiple codes I have from emissions on wifes car I am trying to decide what to do. If I were to dowload cax & put on FS3 will those files change what I currently have for where the turbo boost etc. is at or just lighten things up? her's is the 14 from exergy & mine is a 15 . mine is still stock you can definitely tell the responsiveness difference . they changed what it read for the boost slightly , adding a little on the low end and less on the upper
If you had the previous tune you can just work from that. Fleece uses EFI Live as well so that's all plug and play...
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
19 Posts
I don't have the previous tune on a tuner. I bought it already tuned about 1 1/2 months ago. they were working on keeping / leaving emissions like trifecta did I assume
 

·
Premium Member
Joined
·
1,818 Posts
I don't have the previous tune on a tuner. I bought it already tuned about 1 1/2 months ago. they were working on keeping / leaving emissions like trifecta did I assume
In that case its likely not much from stock anyway. The amount you can tweak and remain emissions compliant is.... Limited.. To say the least. The new turbo would have to be a vgt with similar profiles to the stock. Maybe a little bigger but that's nothing major.

Adding boost to the low end would have to be a performance thing. Less time needed to spin up when you floor it basically. Which could be amplified if you run a larger turbo. Of course you can make the VGT tables more aggressive to do this. And maybe it does that too.

Lowering boost at top end is kinda meh. I mean I always did it but its because I found the Cruze to build excessive boost all around. Boost could be lowered with proportional decrease in EGR and you would still meet NOx at more or less the same DEF dosage. Of course its all at a cost and that cost is higher temps and slightly more soot (like tiny amount).
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
193 Posts
I'm researching compressor maps to see if the other ones I have found will be an improvement or just move my sweet spot. I like the low end boost the oem one has but I would like a little more on top.
this is one of the ones im looking at, somebody posted it on here before GTB1756vk hybrid turbocharger for gen1 Chevy Cruse 2.0CDTi A20DTH | XmanTurbos
Yes diesel4ever if you could pass info I will see what their maps are like... that is a really good price considering the oem is 1200 with a knock off at 800.. even with 100 for shipping that is a good price.
I'm the one who posted the link to the Xman hybrid.

This is the info from KC perfomance. They are SAAB specialists in which the A20DTH was offered in Europe. I reached out to a number of tuners in Europe, they were the only ones who replied and in addition to being helpful they weren't annoyed to answer my questions.

This engine can be remapped over 230hp, but the stock turbo won't go past 200hp.

We have upgrade turbos in stock for 235hp, we would need your turbos partnumbers to be sure its the right one.

If you could send those, we could have it checked for you.

Met vriendelijke groet / Best regards,

Team KCPerformance BV

As the a20dth can easily make 250hp with stock injectors. The only upgrade you need it a turbo and software.

If you have same turbo as a Saab 9-5 2,0cdti from 2010-2011 the I have it in stock 599,-
No core deposit.

If you don't have the same turbo I can't help you.
As we don't stock others for this engine .
And upgrading yours is not a possibility as your USA located.

I drove a Saab 9-5 2011 model for 2 years with full remapped power. 220hp 460nm.
No problems.

The gearbox gets the torque from engine ECU.
If you know what your doing as tuner you can get it to drive very well.

I reprogrammed my own so that 80percent throttle gives me full power.
The advantage of this is that I could drive it full torque in lower rpm in auto mode without shifting back.(kickdown) as this gearbox waits way to long to shift up.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
124 Posts
Discussion Starter · #59 ·
The tuner I am working with tunes bmw diesels.. he built the original tune file blind from his experience with those. When we got it on the dyno amazingly it was real close, he only tweaked it a little until I get my turbo fixed. I asked could he build a tune for non deleted, if somebody is in maryland or close he could do it. The only reason he could do mine is it is deleted just like his BMWs.

The biggest difference between the new tune an oz is they were more aggressive on the bottom end, we moved the whole curve to the right instead as on a track I am not starting from a dead stop. It is definitely wayy faster on the top side, and I didn't give up too much on the bottom, it feels like it is on the very edge of traction on the low side, before it would easily chirp starting, which is wasted energy anyways.
 

·
Registered
Joined
·
124 Posts
Discussion Starter · #60 ·
The downside of oz, fleece and efi live ..they lock their files and the ecu.. I guess for proprietary reasons. My tuner had to physically open and unlock the ecu, return it to stock with a oem file, and then built it from there. Now my ecu is wide open and can be tweaked all I want. If there are only three or four tuners in the world that can tune these, he is definitely one of them. and I think he could easily do it with a non deleted car too he just needs to actually put one on the dyno. Like I stated in the above post if you live in MD it would be interesting to see what he could do to a stock one.
 
41 - 60 of 93 Posts
Top