Chevrolet Cruze Forums banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all,

I am fairly new to Diesel cruzes.. this morning I went to remote start my car with the Factory FOB and it didn't start. After i went outside to start i waited for the glowplug to go away started and now I have a check engine light... Would anyone have a idea as to what happened here? I know i will have to have the codes read but I thought I seen someone talk about this before.. any info is greatly appreciated!

It's a 2014 Cruze Diesel with a little over 54,000 miles, I just bought it like 3 weeks ago.

·
Administrator
25,608 Posts
The remote start is disabled anytime a CEL is illuminated. This is to protect the car from running in a potentially engine destroying condition (no coolant or oil for example).

·
Premium Member
8,003 Posts
The remote start is disabled anytime a CEL is illuminated.
Right. So most likely cause/effect is reversed. The car got a CEL and refused to remote start. You'll need to find out the code behind the CEL. Some car part places will read the codes for free. Once we know the code numbers, we can give some idea as it what is going on.

Reactions: obermd

·
Premium Member
4,652 Posts
This is the single most common issue on these cars and not a big deal. I had this happen about 61K miles. I drove 1000 miles before getting it fixed. My dealer covered it under warranty. I posted my RO here on the site somewhere.

By the way, I am at 182K miles now, and that is the only thing I've had to get replaced related to emissions.

·
Registered
3,340 Posts
Check engine lights on a gm don't bother me, actually I'm impressed when they don't have one on. However remote start not working ruins my day.

Reactions: Merchlewitz

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter · #10 · (Edited)