Chevrolet Cruze Forums banner
1 - 20 of 25 Posts

·
Registered
296 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have an early Gen 2 & they have been known to crack pistons. Is regular fuel part of the issue with cracked pistons, or is it always and everywhere oil and oil changes and things other than fuel grade? I will always pay a few cents extra and use 'Top Tier' fuels so that, at least, is settled.

Q: Now that temps are cooler, and given I am a mostly gentle driver, am I safe using Regular (or maybe Mid-Grade?) in my early Gen 2?

·
Administrator, Resident Tater Salad
17,488 Posts
Most of the knock occurs at low RPM on these motors where the turbo starts to spool and make low end torque but there’s a zone where knock is likely. (Low speed pre ignition). It’s a combination of oil quality/additives and your fuel's resistance to pre ignition.

So do with that what you will.

Supposedly there’s an ECM/TCM update that will drop gears to let the engine rev a little bit more to keep it out of that LSPI zone under heavy load, like climbing a hill.

·
Registered
3,451 Posts
Owners manuals have recommended 87 since the beginning of time.

Those of you in the flatlands don't have anything lower then 87. Or is there?

It's 85 in the western mountains.

·
Registered
323 Posts
IMO, you're fine with 87.

Sent from my SM-G986U using Tapatalk

Reactions: 17Hatch6MT

·
Registered
135 Posts
The owner's manual says 87 octane but one of the RPO codes says 91 octane recommended.

You would do best to run mid-grade if it's affordable and premium if it's not an outrageous cost.
Regular Production Option (RPO) codes that are available on the vehicle "RECOMMEND" 91 octane but the Owners Manual says 87 octane is Okay.. ??
I wonder why such a big difference ??

I agree that something in-between (mid-grade) would probably be best .. (if premium can't be afforded).
These cars perform better with good gas.

·
Registered
1,457 Posts
I wonder why such a big difference ??