Chevrolet Cruze Forums banner
1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey y'all I have 2011 Chevy Cruze LS and i was taking the old lady out on saint patties day and pulling off an exit ramp my car started flashing check engine light, traction control is lit up like I'm driting and she has the worst idle ever now. I've read loose ground, don't think so and bad pcv valve but can't seem to get to mine as easily as the 2012 with just taking the plastic cover off the valve cover any help would be awesome, I'm new to cruze talk so sorry if this has been talked about a million times

Thanks again
Dave P

·
Administrator, Resident Tater Salad
17,359 Posts
You'll need to have the codes read to give us a better idea of what's going on with it.

The 1.8L engine doesn't have the PCV issues that the 1.4L does, so that makes it bit more difficult to guess.

·
Super Moderator
2014 LT program car, Pull Me Over Red
11,681 Posts
Welcome Aboard!:welcome:

I have a 1.4 with the same type of issue, but in my readings there are multiple things that are free (or nearly free) to try first. Off the top of my head:

1. Go to an O'Reilly's and have the codes read. Someone posted that they have a more comprehensive scanner than say Autozone. If you do not have an O'Reilly's near or do not have your own scanner / Torque app setup, go to a reputable garage or dealer and pay for the reading. Do this before you disconnect the battery.

2. remove, sand off the paint or crud from any and all ground nuts,

3. Tighten said nuts including all the positive ones. I do not have the torque specs for them but I would try and find them. I did not on mine, but should have. (Can anyone give these specs?)

4. Consider adding a big three kit. (there are others here selling them, but this is one source: Big 3 Kits F/S and the installation instructions HOW TO: Installation of the Big 3 Cruze Kit