Chevrolet Cruze Forums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Right, so I searched this topic prior to posting this, and didn't find the information I was looking for.

My 2012 Cruze, with 1.4L turbo, is at 98k, and I recently acquired the service history. It looks like the plugs haven't been done yet, and I was rooting around in the service information and the owner's manual, found that the original interval was 97,500. Also saw, somewhere on this forum, that GM revised it to 60k at some point or another. What I was wondering, though, is if anyone's had a problem with these things 'mating' with the head and becoming a broken plug head waiting to happen - I intend to perform this service myself. I would like to be prepared, and know what to expect, since I've never done a tune up on a Cruze before.

·
Administrator, Resident Tater Salad
17,486 Posts
What I was wondering, though, is if anyone's had a problem with these things 'mating' with the head and becoming a broken plug head waiting to happen - I intend to perform this service myself. I would like to be prepared, and know what to expect, since I've never done a tune up on a Cruze before.
60K is good.

Nope. Just SLOWLY wiggle the coil pack off from both ends - try to pull up slowly and simultaneously from left and right sides. Sometimes the boots break off if they've never been touched and you move it around too much.

Make sure the springs are straight in the boots before re-inserting.

Gap new plugs to .028" (or make sure they are).

·
Registered
206 Posts