Chevrolet Cruze Forums banner
1 - 20 of 61 Posts

·
Premium Member
1,283 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I finally got rid of my iPhone 4S and went back to android (thank god). I ordered the Bluetooth adapter immediately and the TQ app was my first download.

I started playing with it today. I didn't have time to sort everything out and configure all the logging options, but i paid close attention to the real time data while driving for about an hour.

I set an alarm to go off when 2* of knock retard are reached, and set a graph for real time knock info, as well as airflow, timing, boost, and other parameters.

Only mods are K&N Drop in and intake resonator bypass. 89 octane fuel, 44* ambient air temp 48-55* IATs.

INFO

First observation is this car is CONSTANTLY fighting knock on the stock tune with 89 octane. My 2 degree alarm went off before i got out of my neighborhood. Throughout the drive every time i touched the throttle the KR graph was moving around in the 0.5-1.5 degree range. Every now and then it would trigger the 2* alarm (maybe every 5 minutes), and once read as high as 4* of knock in typical driving. At WOT it seemed to knock on the hit, pull a little timing and be pretty much right on the knock threshold, with occasional flecks of KR in the 1.5-2.5* range.

When cold the car makes 7psi of boost @WOT. After 190* or so boost typically hovers in the 9-10psi area, with occasional bumps up to 11-12. Peak boost was mid 12.x psi, but it doesn't make that regularly or sustain it.

Timing advance on spoolup is around 2* as the turbo comes on. At peak TQ (3K RPM) it's in the 4.5*-5.5* range, and at peak hp (5.5K) its around 12.5*...out the back door it hits 17* right at the rev limiter...but at that point boost has tapered off to 7psi.

I watched airflow during a 1-2 pull and the car spiked to 116g during 1st gear but could only generate 98g in 2nd, i'll have to pay more attention to this.