Chevrolet Cruze Forums banner
1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
82 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I finally test drove a cruze today, actually enjoyed it, but a lot is lost in the heat of the moment. I didn't commit to anything. It has 55k for under $10k otd.

Currently have an 06 cobalt with 212k it's still a solid car but problems here and there are exceeding it's worth to me. My mpg's are way down and honestly don't want to invest the money to figure out why.

I commute a little over 100 hwy miles a day so the 6speed 42mpg is music to my ears. But I do have a few questions and concerns. I have searched and most threads are dated but a lot of good knowledge. So if I'm a noob beating a dead horse I apologize.

What kind of actual hwy mpg could I expect?

After test driving I smelled a hint of coolant when exiting the car. I raised the hood, but could see no visible leaks or wet spots, a search showed this was common, but no real answer.

I will need this car to go 200k + miles has anybody hit that yet with the 1.4 turbo?

Thanks for your time! Hopefully can be more involved if I pulled the trigger on it.

·
Registered
6 Posts
I'm afraid I won't be able to help too much but I'd say you should shoot for it. I've got the 2012 LT (1.4 t/c) with 87k on it and haven't had issues. I have a cold air intake which gets me on average 35-ish mpg. With the Eco I would imagine it'd be even better, even if its stock. I personally haven't smelled coolant on mine or have had any issues with it. I just took my Cruze on a cross country trip and it averaged 33.3 mpg across 2700ish miles. Hope this helps at least a bit.

·
Premium Member
949 Posts
You need to verify no smell of coolant is coming from the vents with the heat on high. High or low fan speed. Make sure the car is fully warmed up when you check. If you find it after purchase, you are more or less stuck with it. The issue comes from the following thread: