Chevrolet Cruze Forums banner
1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a ticking noise in my engine while idling when first starts it’s worse. There has always been a noise sense new the dealer told me it was the injectors when I first got it now have 190k km works fine no check engine like and has never had one one. The noise is just seeming to get louder and I am curious If anyone has heard of injectors causing a noise. With mileage creeping up I want to make sure I stay on top of everything. I drove 200km a day and rely on this car. It has been reliable all along. And I want to keep it that way

·
Premium Member
5,535 Posts
Fuel injectors indeed make quite a click and will be louder in cold weather since they are delivering a richer fuel mixture till the engine is up to temperature.

Just the way it is.....no worries.

Rob

·
Registered
37 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Ok good. I am a tech who works on Diesel engine for peterbilt trucks and typically ticks indicate something out of adjustment or a faulty injector. And with my fuel mileage dropping the past year I been starting to question the noise more so.

·
Premium Member
5,535 Posts
Ok good. I am a tech who works on Diesel engine for peterbilt trucks and typically ticks indicate something out of adjustment or a faulty injector. And with my fuel mileage dropping the past year I been starting to question the noise more so.
I baby sit a couple of Petes and a bunch of Cats (take a look at our site, johler demolition) and one Mack just to keep me on my toes.
All that to ask: How in the world can you hear anything 'tick' after a a day surrounded by that rackett? Heh heh.

So, since you have a bit of background, these have loosened a spark plug from time to time....sounds like a real loose valve and is one of those, I heard it yesterday but not today kinda things.....a result of the aluminum head expanding/contracting around the plug threads.