Chevrolet Cruze Forums banner
1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
69 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I work as a parts guy at a Chevy dealer, and I also have a 2017 Cruze. There have been issues with detonation (pinging) damaging pistons. We just had one towed in Monday with a damaged piston. I can see Chevy eventually releasing some type of recall/service bulletin similar to what's going on with the Impala where a reprogram is done and the oil is switched to synthetic Dexos. In the meanwhile, I may have found an interesting tidbit of info. In the owner's manual, it recommends an octane rating of 87 ("Regular" grade fuel) with 10% or less ethanol content. They also recommend Top Tier fuel because of the additive package it contains. So I put my VIN into our parts catalog and run all the option codes and other info on it. On my RPO codes, code KRD is listed- denoting the use of 91 octane fuel!! Running the VIN of the car in the shop, along with a few off our lot shows that that code appears each time. So this has me wondering if octane rating has something to do with these failures. It may be ok to run 87 octane if you're not doing spirited driving or live in an area with hills, but I just wonder if these engines in the 2nd gens are designed for 91 octane and they misprinted to owner's manuals. Regardless, I'll be using 91 octane from now on. I've been using 89 with good results, so I could see 91 working just fine.

·
Registered
692 Posts
I am under the impression that all Dexos oil is now full synthetic. What's interesting, is I have not found any gas with no ethanol that is top tier, only gas with up to 10% ethanol. I'm guessing the additives are what makes it top tier. Not sure about the octane. One of the reasons I bought another Cruze was the fuel economy and cost saving. Going to a higher octane will not save me as much money, especially with it 40 cents more than 87. I will do it if it makes since, but it will be frustrated.

·
Registered
69 Posts